Hornets LaMelo Ball defeats Rookie of the Year over T-wolf Anthony Edwards

June 16th (UPI)- Charlotte Hornets point guard LaMelo Ball was named the NBA Rookie of the Year on Wednesday night.

Fellow finalists who broke through the ball Anthony Edwards of Minnesota Timberwolves And that Sacramento Kings‘Tyrese Haliburton won this award. The award was voted by a global panel of 100 writers and broadcasters covering the league.

With 84 votes in 1st place and a total of 465 points, the ball won the third ROTY honor in Hornets history and participated. Emeka Okafor And Larry Johnson.. Edwards finished second in the vote with a total of 15 1st place votes and 309 points.

The 19-year-old ball was ranked third overall in the 2020 draft by the Hornets after playing briefly in Lithuania and Australia. He averaged 15.7 points, 6.1 assists, 5.9 rebounds and 1.6 steals per game in Charlotte this season.

Despite missing 21 games due to a broken wrist, the ball increased the pace of all rookies with assists and steals. Before he was injured, he became the youngest player in NBA history, scoring a triple-double in his tenth career game. Atlanta Hawks January 9th.

Meanwhile, Edwards started slowly from the gate after being taken to Timberwolves with a top pick. But as the season progressed, he took a big step, averaging 23.8 points per game after the All-Star Break, improving overall efficiency.

Halliburton, who fell to 12th place in the draft, averaged 13 points and 5.3 assists, shooting more than 40% from the 3-point range. He finished third in the vote with a total of 114 points.

This was the last of six major personal awards distributed this offseason. Denver Nuggets Center Nicola Yokitchi was selected as the MVP, Utah Jazz Big man Rudy Gobert Won the honor of the best defensive player of the year.

Gobert’s teammate, Jordan Clarkson, Received the Sixman of the Year Award, New York Knicks forward Julius Randle Selected as the most improved player. Randall’s head coach, Tom ThibodeauWon his second Coach of the Year Award.

NBA Rookie of the Year Voting Results:

1. LaMelo Ball (Charlotte Hornets)-465 points

2. Anthony Edwards (Minnesota Timberwolves)-309 points

3. Tyrese Haliburton (Sacramento Kings)-114 points

4. Saddiq BeyDetroit Pistons)-3 points Hornets LaMelo Ball defeats Rookie of the Year over T-wolf Anthony Edwards

Back to top button