FedEx Indy dominates the aerospace competition

Hard work and perseverance paid off again for the Indiana team.

FedEx® Indy has defeated 73 world teams to win the famous William F. Bill O’Brien Award for Outstanding Achievement in Aircraft Maintenance at Competition for maintenance of aerospace technology (AMC) Presented by Latch® in Dallas, Texas. FedEx Indy also won the title in 2015.

“When they declared Indy the winner, we were all shocked,” said Joe Schmalz, FedEx Indy captain. “We have been exhibiting a team from India for the last 10 years; we worked very hard to reach this point. I am so proud that my teammates are working together to win the O’Brien Award. I would also like to thank FedEx for their continued support of our team. We could not have done this without their unwavering support and encouragement. ”

Schmalt was joined at FedEx Indy by Scott Johnston, Jim Hoag, Rob Schramm, Travis Donald and Darin Campbell (alternative).

Schmalz also wanted to thank several people in the FedEx family for helping them win the title, including Scott Ogden, Les Frank, Rich Ugarta, Mike Sanford, Chris Hart, Gary Lyons, Christian Klein and Michelle Barnes, as well as Ken McTiernan and John Goliath and their team for hosting the AMC.

William F. O’Brien Award for Advantage in aircraft maintenance is the grand prize for the team with the overall winning score in the aerospace service competition. The 4-foot-tall O’Brien Trophy will be on display at the FedEx Indianapolis Technical Facility for the next 12 months. The trophy features a bust of aviation pioneer Charles E. Taylor, who built and maintained the first aircraft engine used by the Wright brothers. The sponsorship of the award is part of Snap-on’s continued commitment to the Aerospace Maintenance and Aviation Maintenance Technicians competition around the world.

“Technicians play such an important role in ensuring the safety of aircraft and passengers, and aerospace maintenance competitions are the perfect place to highlight the important work they do every day,” said Joe Chwan, director of global aerospace company Snap. -on Industrial.. ”On behalf of thousands of Snap-on professionals around the world, I would like to congratulate qualified FedEx Indy technicians and all 74 teams with their achievements at this year’s AMC.

“The dedication and professionalism shown by FedEx illustrates the true spirit of the William F. O’Brien Award for Outstanding Achievement in Aircraft Maintenance.”

The Snap-on Aerospace Maintenance Competition, organized by the Aerospace Maintenance Council, gives teams of licensed AMT, AME, international military and qualified aviation maintenance students the opportunity to test their aviation maintenance skills against the skills of their peers. The competition included 26 tasks in areas such as avionics; security wiring; fiber optics / flight control rigging; hydraulics; jet engine troubleshooting; Occupational safety SMS; and other tasks. The teams had 15 minutes to accurately complete each task; teams that completed their tasks in less than the allotted time received higher scores.

“The Aerospace Maintenance Competition is a place where aircraft technicians and students from all over the world come and compete with each other. But the competition is designed to show the public what our responsibilities are; the knowledge, skills and integrity we all possess, ”said Ken McTiernan, chairman of the aerospace equipment maintenance competition. “We have teams competing from three different countries. The plane doesn’t care where you’re from. It just takes care of the knowledge of the technician who holds this tool, and the knowledge here, in the competition, is outrageous.

Winners of the main categories

Category MRO / OEM

  • 1st place: FedEx Indy
  • 2nd place: American Airlines – Tulsa
  • 3rd place: American Airlines – DWH

School category

  • 1st place: Tulsa Tech – adult students
  • 2nd place: West Los Angeles College
  • 3rd place: University of Freedom

Military category

  • 1st place: Royal Air Force of Canada – 12th Air Squadron
  • 2nd place: US Coast Guard – CG-41 Aeronautical Engineering Team
  • 3rd place: US Air Force – 412nd Maintenance Group / Edwards AFB

Commercial category

  • 1st place: Alaska Airlines – Seattle
  • 2nd place: FedEx LAX
  • 3rd place: United Airlines – Line

International Category / Paul Cousins ​​Award

  • 1st place – Royal Canadian Air Force – 12th Air Squadron

Award “Competitive Competitions with Professionalism”.

  • MIAT College of Technology
  • Embry-Riddle University – Team 1

AMT Charles E. Taylor Professional Award

  • Industry: Cassandra Hepp, Elevate Aviation
  • Student: Ryan Richie, University of Utah

The Phoebe Omley Scholarship Award (Phoebe Omley was the first woman to receive a FAA license as an aircraft mechanic in 1927).

  • Joshua Shilinsky – University of Freedom
  • Rebecca Waring, PIA Hagerstown
  • Penelope Wood, George T. Baker Aviation Technical College
  • Shelby Quilinan, Embry-Riddle Aviation University

AMC Peer Award

In addition to the William F. Bill O’Brien Award for Outstanding Achievement in Aircraft Maintenance, Snap-on provided all the tools and equipment used by participants during the competition and donated more than $ 75,000 in prize money for tools and equipment to the best finishers in the competition. More than 50 other companies, educational institutions, community organizers and individual volunteers contributed time, resources, prizes, products and airline miles to the event. Other major sponsors include American Airlines and Pratt & Whitney (Platinum); International Association of Drivers and Aerospace Workers, PPG, SkyWest Airlines, Teamsters, TAMC and United Airlines (Gold).

http://www.aerospacemanufacturinganddesign.com/article/fedex-indy-dominates-aerospace-maintenance-competition FedEx Indy dominates the aerospace competition

Back to top button